in regards to Wicked Witch Boy

I think people should know that I’m not being dramatic or something. I took Wicked Witch Boy down because a startling number of people keep buying it, and I know I need to revise it yet again. I don’t want to keep selling something that needs editing, so until I get to it, it’ll stay down.

I wish I hadn’t asked anyone to read it, but I only asked one person so I guess it’s not a big deal. They read it and never cared enough to review it, so I’ll assume they hated it and leave it at that.

The truth is, I may never put the book back up. I don’t know. If I didn’t live under a rock and knew how popular YA was, I probably would have taken my time publishing that book. I had no idea people would actually buy it without me having to do a lick of marketing. Too bad I just don’t write much young adult.

Also, I think the cover is shit and the font needs to be adjusted. So there’s that.

Maybe the sad reality is the book is only selling well because a boy is the lead character. Which is really fucking dumb. If I went back and made Toby a girl, the book would be exactly the same as it is right now.  Only . . . the title wouldn’t make sense.

It’s really saddening that people might only be buying that fucking book because it’s about a boy. Similarly, Time’s Arrow from A Time of Darkness sold really, really well all on its own (I never tried marketing that book or even asking people to read it) simply because Neferre is described as gross and masculine even though she’s a woman (I guess describing her as slightly alcoholic helped too).

No, we don’t live in a society where masculinity is idealized and femininity is spat upon at all.

In other news, I’m still up to my ears writing The Suns of Anarchy, which is book 3 of The Prince of Qorlec. I’m actually behind on my writing schedule because I spent the weekend revising the second book. I’ve also been having really bad allergies all month and its hindering my ability to get anything done. I fear I am going to be snotty and depressed for several weeks.

I’m coming very close to the end of book 3, though. I’ve already gotten past the main conflict and the anti-climatic surprise at the end, which will have to be rewritten until I’m satisfied. I just have to write one or two chapters more to end the book now, then I’ll have a first rough draft. After that, I’ll probably spend next week revising and rewriting.

When that’s finally done, I’ll start working on the first book in my new series some more, take a break from POQ and let it simmer in the pot a while.

That’s the plan.