what makes that silly ol’ ant think she can move that rubber tree plant?

(4/1/2017 — Timestamp From A Bygone Era)

Everyone knows an ant. Can’t. Move a rubber tree plant! But she’s got hiiiiiiigh hopes.

The other day I noticed a forum thread on goodreads where people were talking about series vs. standalone books.

Whenever I write a series, I always try to write it in such a way that a reader could pick up any book in the series and enjoy the story without having read the other six or seven books. I’ve learned to do this after writing free series for people to read online and constantly receiving emails that went “Man, your series is HUGE. How do I read it? Where do I start?”

After realizing the error of my ways, I learned to write each book in a series as a standalone novel . . . or at least I try. Right now, a person could pick up The Harvest and read through what I’ve written so far (and hopefully enjoy it) without having to have read Project Mothership. And hopefully, The Harvest was so entertaining that they will want to read PM and every other book in the series.

That’s all I can hope for. But I’ve got moderately high hopes. The glass is half-full. Etc.

Did some brainstorming last night and wound up outlining six books for my series The Prince of Qorlec. I wanted seven but I think six is the magic number.

Also, been thinking about doing a second series based in the same world after Quinn’s series is over. I know it would be unrealistic to have Quinn defeat the Zon Regime overnight after they’ve been occupying her planet for over two hundred years. This is why six books are needed, and also why I was thinking of doing a second series.

I like to think Quinn would lay the foundation for a great last battle and the next generation (her child) would be the one to put the last nail in the coffin.

I managed to improve on Dr. Zorgone. I made him a little more hateable (at least I hope so) by having him shoot an important character who the audience hopefully likes and sympathizes with. Well, I like the character who gets shot. The problem is knowing whether or not the audience would.

That’s the problem with being the writer. You will never see things from the perspective of the audience. Nothing in your own books is going to surprise you, and because you created the characters, of course you love them, but that doesn’t make them loveable.

This is why editors and beta readers are needed. Without an extra pair of eyes to help, writing is extra hard.

I don’t know. Some days I feel like that one meme . . . Hmm, let me find it.

th

(if you’re on amazon or goodreads, you are missing a meme here)

Yeah, this is how I feel some days when I’m writing. I miss those ignorant, blissful days when I was a kid and I would just sit down and write without having to think about whether or not I was doing it right. Writing was purely for pleasure. I didn’t worry about anything else. Now I’m an English Lit major who’s been sufficiently whipped by college professors and editors enough that I care. It’s . . . rather depressing. I miss being carefree.

I’m going to work on Chapter 8 today (lol, not really, this post is scheduled for four days from now, just to keep me from spamming) and right now I’m trying to decide if  the chapter should be from Quinn’s or Thalcu’s prospective.

Because I have this rule about fight scenes — that the fighting of a main character should always be viewed from a side character so that they look badass — I try to plan my fights around pov chapters. Chapter 8 is going to include heavy fighting, so it needs to be from Thalcu’s perspective, so that she can watch in awe as Quinn is fighting and privately gush about her being a natural fighter.

Yeah, Quinn is a natural fighter, while over in A Time of Darkness, Nineveh/Cricket is a crap-fighter and only gets good later because she’s pissed at the world.

Speaking of my wicked dragon slayer . . . I’ve decided to take a long break from A Time of Darkness. It’s been a very frustrating story to write ever since I started writing it back in 2013-14ish. I’m really not sure if I can even write it. As I said in an interview, I tend to have lovely ideas and not enough talent to carry them out.

ATOD is a series that I frequently had to take breaks from over the years just because I think I set the bar too high for myself.

I’m just an ordinary, mediocre writer. And we all know that marginalized people are not allowed to be mediocre. We are not allowed to be ordinary.  To get anywhere in life, we have to be fucking extraordinary. We have to write a bestseller — usually about oppression or “minority issues”  because god forbid we write about minorities doing anything besides being oppressed. No dragons and grand adventures for us.