barking at the moon

I woke up when I heard my dog barking. I went outside to see what he was barking at. Maybe another cat thought it would be great to sit on the fence and stare at him? I get outside . . . and he’s barking at the moon.

Now I know where the phrase comes from.

I looked at him and I said, “You’re insane.

Then I realized I was talking to a dog.

In other news, I think Time’s Arrow: A Time of Darkness is on the verge of selling more books than any other book I’ve published.

The keyword here is selling. Because Tales of Talithia is still wearing the crown after so many downloads during its free promotion (but no one could be bothered to review it, unfortunately).

The Thieves of Nottica has sold about fifteen dollars in ecopies in the two months it’s been out. Not saying that’s great or something. I’m stating facts.

Time’s Arrow: A Time of Darkness is on the verge of passing beyond The Thieves of Nottica’s measly sells. I can’t decide why, though. Time’s Arrow is not, not my best published book right now. But I think I have some ideas.

First, the blurb describes Neferre, the protagonist, in a not-so-flattering light. If I saw a blurb like that on a book, I’d buy it. And honestly, I wish I’d taken Neferre’s drinking and grossness a bit farther. I had her straighten up and stop drinking because suddenly she’s got this kid she needs to protect. She transitioned from irresponsible to responsible within at least the first three chapters, which probably made her kinda dull the rest of the book. I dunno.

Second, the cover. The cover is not badass but it’s decent for something I made myself. A lizard-eyed woman looking out over a dark pool. I need to adjust the positioning of the title, though.

Third, it’s not a romance. People seem to sneer on romance, so the fact that Time’s Arrow isn’t labeled as such brings in more readers. I worry about that. Because they will get into the book and see that there is indeed romance in it, and even though the romance isn’t a huge part of the plot, they will still go “Arrrrrgh, romance! Noooo! Feelings! Ugh!” Because feelings are for inferior women only. Big manly men do not have fweelings.

There’s also the fact that the main character is unapologetically queer. I don’t market my books as “queer books” any more than I market them as “woman’s fiction” because they aren’t. They’re just fiction. But I still worry that bigots will get into the story, realize it features queer women, and then back out without giving it a real chance.

I guess it shouldn’t matter. Bigots aren’t the sort of people I want reading my books anyway.

Six people have bought the book. At least three have read it (which I know thanks to KENP, which lets me obsessively check) but no one has reviewed it.

I feel like I’m sitting on my hands waiting for the inevitable one star review that tells me I’m crap. I’m kind of playing a guessing game with myself, where I’ve already guessed that Time’s Arrow will be the book to get a low rating. My second best guess is The Thieves of Nottica.

 

 

 

