My Review Policy

No. This isn’t a policy for reviews that I write as a reader. This is my stance on the reviews that I receive as an author: I don’t read them.

There’s no reason to read reviews on my books. Why? A review isn’t there for me to read it and then spend all my time agonizing over an opinion. A review serves two purposes: 1) to help potential buyers decide whether or not to waste time on your book 2) to help authors build a reputation as a writer worth reading.

That’s basically it.

The more reviews I have, the more it shows that someone not only took the time to read my book but also cared enough to come all the way back to its page on Amazon and either trash it or rave about it.

It’s free publicity. Because when people see reviews – whether trashy or positive – they will be intrigued and maybe use the Look Inside feature to see what the big deal is. Maybe they’ll get hooked after reading the first few paragraphs and want to buy the book. Congrats. That review that scathingly tore down your Mary Sue protagonist just sold a copy of your book for you.

Reviews are not for constructive feedback because they are not written for the author, and there’s no reason to read them hoping for such. If a reviewer sincerely wants to help a writer improve, they will send them a private message detailing the areas they can work on. It was recently brought to my attention (though I was already kinda aware) that I suck at exposition. As a result, I am now experimenting with putting all the most boring exposition into footnotes in my ebooks. That way, readers can skip the lore if they wish. Again, like a video game codex.

Bottomline: I don’t read reviews on my work.